Midsummer blaze

Midsummer has been and gone… the long white nights stretch out ahead. Hard to believe that the slow march towards autumn has already started. (Click the photos to enlarge.)

At 10.30 in the evening, it is still full of sunlight,

Golden rays bringing smiles to clouds.

The setting sun is an orange egg on the horizon.

A stray black eyebrow crosses the sky

While a ribbon of apricot clouds casts a glow on the water below.

The sky seems to expand with beauty – dizzying in size,

The clouds melting into the burnished copper of the lake.

Clouds, sun, sky – dance in silence

While I —

I become a star on the horizon.

For more lovely sunsets, please visit: Skywatch!

I’m going away this weekend. The destination is a surprise – but hopefully it will be somewhere photogenic and relaxing! I’ll be around to visit you all when I get back.

39 thoughts on “Midsummer blaze

  1. I would so love to witness a late sunset and early sunrise like that. What at treat.. thanks for sharing it. I bet everyone has really thick drapes in their bedrooms, eh? 😉

    Like

  2. Hello Lady Fi!

    Just wanted to stop in and say hi! For some reason your blog posts are not showing up in my reader…going to have to try to resubscribe.

    Tami (PaWildWoman)

    Like

  3. I won’t complain about our LONG days anymore!! Marvelous post for the day — as always! Such lovely skies and colors and no one describes them better than you! Have a great time on your mystery weekend!! Sounds like fun to me!

    Sylvia

    Like

  4. I wish I could see the sunset at 10:30 pm here in the Philippines so I can have more time to watch it! That was a beautiful sky!

    Like

  5. exquisite photos and descriptions as well…you’ve chosen your words to clearly to tie in to the images. beautiful. I hope you have a wonderful mystery weekend.

    Like

  6. smiles to clouds above a copper lake. sounds like you and nature are buddies. maybe that’s how nature wants it to be for all of us. thanks for the reminder. the personification you use makes this so fun:)

    Like

I love reading your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.