Extra-ordinary

What’s your take on buskers? Do you stop and listen to them for a while, and then give them some money and say a few kind words before hurrying on with your business? Or do you rush by guiltily, eyes on the ground and muttering something about beggars in the underground?

I usually stop, toss the musician a few coins and always try to make eye contact and smile. But do I really listen and appreciate the music? No – probably not.

My friend Karriärmamman brought this story to my attention. A quick visit to Snopes confirms that it is true.

comp-scroll

A man sat at a metro station in Washington DC and started to play the violin; it was a cold January morning. He played six Bach pieces for about 45 minutes. Since it was rush hour, thousands of people passed him on their way to work.

Three minutes went by and a middle aged man noticed there was musician playing. He slowed his pace and stopped for a few seconds and then hurried up to meet his schedule.

A minute later, the violinist received his first dollar tip: a woman threw the money in the till and without stopping continued to walk.

A few minutes later, someone leaned against the wall to listen to him, but the man looked at his watch and started to walk again. Clearly he was late for work.

The one who paid the most attention was a 3-year-old boy. His mother was in a hurry so she pushed hard and the child continued to walk turning his head all the time. This action was repeated by several other children. All the parents, without exception, forced them to move on.

In the 45 minutes the musician played, only six people stopped and stayed for a while. About 20 gave him money but continued to walk at their normal pace. He collected $32. When he finished playing and silence took over, no one noticed it. No one applauded, nor was there any recognition.

No one knew this but the violinist was Joshua Bell, one of the best musicians in the world. He had just played one of the most intricate pieces ever written with a violin worth 3.5 million dollars. Two days before playing in the subway, Joshua Bell sold out at a theater in Boston where the seats averaged $100 a pop.

Joshua Bell playing incognito in the metro station was organized by the Washington Post as part of a social experiment about perception, taste and priorities. The outlines were: in a commonplace environment at an inappropriate hour, do we perceive beauty? Do we stop to appreciate it? Do we recognize talent in an unexpected context?

lone_tree_sunset

The Washington Post drew this conclusion:
If we do not have a moment to stop and listen to one of the best musicians in the world playing the best music ever written, how many other things are we missing?

It is clear then that all too often beauty does not transcend everything. That the demands of our lives have left us so busy and de-sensitized that we do not have time to just stop and listen.

As William Henry Davies wrote:

A poor life this, if full of care,

We have no time to stand and stare.

So, stop what you are doing and look around! And take a minute to appreciate the unexpected beauty of your life.

22 thoughts on “Extra-ordinary

  1. When in Raleigh, I do not stop for the rare few we have playing on the streets. I feel certain we will never have a Joshua Bell and his multi-million dollar violin, but rather young kids hooked on drugs looking for enough cash to score another fix.

    In New York (or any real city), I would probably stop for someone playing a real instrument if they were any good. I would not stop for the guys playing the five gallon buckets with drum sticks.

    Like

  2. Next time I’ll stop and stare. If it looks like a $3.5 million violin then I’ll mug him. Thanks for the tip!

    Seriously though, fascinating post. I guess we are all so very busy but we should stop and sniff the roses now and then along the way.

    Like

  3. Usually the musicians who play at metro stations are not that talented…I have yet heard anyone who’s great. I usually walk pretty fast by them to catch the metro or go to my class. There’s barely any time to stop unless I’m waiting for the metro to come.

    However, if someone’s playing violin I’d stop because I like the sound of it, but not for bad music.

    Like

  4. I’d heard this story. I’ll actually almost always stop for street musicians; if they’re any good, I tip them. I love street musicians, actually. And some of my current favs, Rogerigo y Gabriela, got their start on the streets of Dublin.

    Like

  5. Loved this post!! I always enjoy buskers-of course there are none out here in the countryside, but I’ve heard some talent when visiting cities. They make me smile.

    Like

  6. I enjoy buskers as well. I like listening anyone talented, and as a former viola player, a violin will usually stop me in my tracks–or at least slow me down for a long gawk if I’m in a rush.

    Like

  7. Dumdad…loved the comment – cannot stop laughing!

    And yeah, the whole thing is kinda scary. As they say, life is what passes you while you are busy making plans. This sort of falls under the same cathegory?!

    Like

  8. Thank you so much! That is oh so true!! Today–a day that has not gone so great…I will take a minute to stop, breathe in, breathe out, smile so that I don’t miss out!

    Like

  9. wow. That is amazing. People will go and pay loads of money for a ticket to see the guy playing in a theatre, but if they think he is a beggar…

    I usually stop and listen if the busker is unusual and catches my attention

    Like

  10. wow. I have never heard this story before…. kind of like my “slow down” story about Emmitt, the cat…lol, but your version is much more cultured!

    Like

  11. There are many street musicians who play and sing with such passion that I am moved to tears. This may only be premenstural tension, but still, I tend to reward them for getting to me so deeply.

    Many a time I have stood transfixed with tears pouring down my cheeks. I appreciate the way these brave musicians will stand there to be rejected by 98% of the people scurrying past and still give it their all.

    The Salvation Army Brass Bands always get extra from me, because they scrape the unwanted off the sidewalks and give them a good meal and a warm bed.

    The only street busking I won’t reward is mime acts or accapella. There is a time and a place for that sort of thing.

    Like

  12. my husband still will take his guitar out and play on the sidewalk…not for money, simply to play. And if someone ELSE is playing out there? He joins them. Its adorable, I gotta get it on camera sometime.

    VERY interesting post(yet again)!

    Like

  13. i remember this story from last year. there’s a video, too. quite interesting.

    TBH i am usually in such a hurry when i’m in a big city (where many street performers are) that i rarely stop. when i was in school (uni) i had more time to slow down and listen. but rarely had money….

    now i have lots of time but i still have to remind myself to slow down and enjoy the moment. *sigh*

    Like

  14. There are no street musicians where I live. But, I do remember listening to some in Chicago and often they sounded like they were practicing. I never stopped. Maybe I walked by a Joahua Bell and I never noticed it.

    Like

  15. Well I’d have recognised him and then would have told him how much I enjoyed his playing of the Bruch when I heard him play it about eight years earlier at the Festival Hall. Gosh, I do sound smug!

    Bell’s got it all really -talent, looks and charm.

    I used to enjoy hearing buskers on the London tube walkways – nothing like that here in rural France. Most of the outdoor music is Breton dance stuff.

    Like

  16. When I first read about this story it reminded me of something my adored Grandpapá told me so many years ago – “It doesn’t really matter at all whether one is rich or famous. What matters is to make sure that in a world of noise, we just make music”. Amén to that! Lovely post as usual, my dear.

    Like

  17. I was mesmerized by this story. It was so fascinating. It is one thing that people didn’t recognize the difference between an average (or below) player and the virtuosic Joshua Bell, but in my view the article revealed how we are so busy and purposeful in what we are doing right now in our lives, or where we are going, that we fail to see or recognize the extraordinary beauty that lies in front of us. We should practice looking around us so we don’t miss these performances… or even enjoy some of the simple beauties around us.

    Like

I love reading your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.