What a load of waffle…

Eating waffles is a way of welcoming the spring in Sweden (whether it’s here or not)!

They are eaten on Annunciation Day or Our Lady’s Day, which in Swedish is ‘vårfrudagen’. Now this sounds quite similar, if spoken quickly, to ‘våffeldagen’, which means Waffle Day. So through time, the Chinese whisper effect changed Our Lady’s Day to Waffle Day.

Many of you have been wondering if winter is extra long this year… Well, it started earlier, but looking back in my archives, I giggle at the photos taken this time last year.

Paw prints and footprints on the snow in perfect harmony? Yes, that’s right…

My sister was here for a visit. The ice on the lake was still thick.

She took off her shoes and socks and went for a walk. Not sure about you, but I’d have cold feet about doing this. (Yes, that is a bad pun!) After all, it was about minus 13 C…

I wonder if craziness runs in the family…

For more quirky perspectives, please visit: My World!

48 responses

  1. You are killing me with that waffle!

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 05:56

  2. Oh, that waffle looks soooooo delicious!!! And I’m with you, I think I’d get “cold feet” in regards to walking barefoot in the snow, too!!! Great post as always, my dear Ladyfi!! Hope your week is going well — needless to say, mine is much, much better now!

    Sylvia

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 06:10

  3. Wonderful shots.I am ready for the waffle.

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 06:21

  4. this is so cool!! 🙂

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 06:28

  5. I am feeling cold seeing that last shot!
    The waffle shot is Mmmmm…. 🙂

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 07:01

  6. You have a special holiday just for waffles?! That is so cool. I want to come to Sweden and celebrate waffle day! But mostly, I just want a waffle now more than anything…

    And up to now I’d just thought of Sweden for their beautiful Swedish Warmblood horses.

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 07:15

  7. The waffle looks so good!
    I have never tried to walk in the snow without shoes…*smile*

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 08:19

  8. Amy

    That waffle looks YUMMY and your sister looks crazy standing there on snow in her bare feet!!! I thought for sure it was a beach photo at first, then the photo of your sister on snow in her bare feet- OMG….crazy!!! ;-)) Hope she got a waffle for her crazy actions!!! hehehe

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 09:10

  9. clearly crazy! bare foot in the snow? I feel cold just thinking about it!

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 09:48

  10. kelli

    I think a WAFFLE DAY is a GREAT holiday idea!!! Think I could convince the Danes to make one?? And as for that last question?? I am pleading the 5th! :o)

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 09:55

  11. Now if only I’d known about it I’d have taken the excuse of a Swedish Great Grandfather and made waffles for the Annunciation myself! I’ll put it in the diary for next year….

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 11:31

  12. Your sister is crazy! I´m getting cold feet just looking at her! And the waffle! Yummy! Just what I need right now (sitting here with an empty stomach)….

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 13:08

  13. I totally want a waffle now….

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 13:26

  14. Di

    Waffles look delish! The feet look COLD! She’s one brave gal.

    Di
    The Blue Ridge Gal

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 14:22

  15. OMG I can’t believe she took her shoes off and walked in the snow!! I’m so gobsmacked I don’t know what to say……

    C x

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 15:35

  16. And your sister *looks* like such a sane and normal person ;>)! I bet you have a lot of crazy (quirky) stories to share about growing up together! My feet are cold just thinking about that walk in the snow.

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 16:21

  17. Personally I prefer waffles to standing barefoot in the snow. But I’m decadent that way.

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 16:54

  18. mother of the cousins

    Please note I am NOT crazy. I’m as sane and wonderful as my sister (or two) …. barefeet in winter is called snowfooting. Try it!!

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 18:14

    • I didn’t mean to imply you were crazy.. rather that I was too… I’ve rolled around in the snow nuddie after a sauna, btw! 😉

      Like

      March 30, 2010 at 19:07

      • Morag

        Oh yuck. Thanks for that image, Fi!!!!

        Like

        March 30, 2010 at 22:43

  19. Sir Pe

    Hehe, well Lady Fi has been snowfooting too, she might just not remember it! There was this cabin up in the snowy north, and it had a sauna in it, and… well I’ll let Lady Fi tell the story 😉

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 18:22

  20. Oh that waffle looks so delicious. I remember the bare feet post – is it a year already?

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 18:28

    • Yes – a whole year has flown by!

      Like

      March 30, 2010 at 19:15

  21. O.K. count me in for the waffle breakfast…not so much for the barefoot walk in the snow.

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 19:04

  22. Vafler er godt! Vi har spist nystekte vafler i skibakken i dag!
    Tøft å gå barent i snøen …. ikke noe for folk med kalde føtter :o)

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 20:14

  23. ja, inte skulle jag gå barfota i snön i alla fall. .) Glad Påsk på dig. 🙂

    Like

    March 30, 2010 at 21:53

  24. Give me Waffle Day any day! Big improvement on Our Lady’s Day. And yes, your sister’s nuts!

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 00:20

  25. nice. i have barefooted in snow a couple times…that was a few years back though…not sure if i am up to it now. smiles.

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 01:05

  26. Love the waffle story,
    and your sister looks so full of joy… making the most of things.
    . Kudos to that.

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 01:13

  27. Mmmmmmm. I could go for homemade waffles right now!

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 01:21

  28. Clive

    Was wondering if winter was extra long this year but yes, I remember that photo of your sister last year! Time flies!

    Love the waffle pics – makes us want to live back in Brussels to get a decent waffle again!

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 01:27

  29. l love waffles, l love snow and l hate wearing shoes=love your imagesxx waving from london in UK. lyndax

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 02:04

  30. Yummmm….waffles. I think I’ll move to Sweden.

    And I guess I’ve been reading your blog for awhile as I remember your sister’s visit and walk!

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 03:32

  31. Barefoot in the snow leaves a mark on one’s memory. I am only brave enough for a couple of steps though.

    Waffles? Excellent…

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 13:36

  32. Oh that waffle…. yummy!

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 13:54

  33. Your waffle looks much better than the ones I made last night. Much. So I’m not going to show it to my children who continue to think I’m a good waffle cook.

    P.S. Thanks for the recommendation to read The Help. I LOVED it 🙂

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 15:23

  34. Maybe your sister warmed her feet afterwards in the waffle iron, on a low setting? 😉

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 16:29

  35. Land of shimp

    Waffles are wonderful, they’re like eating a hug. Warm, fluffy, comforting. It’s a pity they aren’t actually good for you, but it’s important to have the occasional treat. It makes eating seem less of an obligation to be fulfilled, and more about fulfillment on more than one level.

    Your sister is being very brave, and adventurous, reminding herself she’s alive with some very cold feet. Everyone should run barefoot through snow at least once, it’s wonderfully invigorating.

    Quick story (okay, probably not quick, I’m wordy, sorry!): We have pool in our backyard that has an automatic cover. You just flip a switch and the cover rolls on, or off. It helps keep heat in, prevent evaporation (as much as it can), etc. etc. but it also means being able to keep the pool ready for swimming for much of the year, since it helps retain its heat.

    As a result I’m able to swim much of the winter, and about a month ago we had one of those delightful, fluffy snows, where all the lines of reality were just made prettier. The house around us looked like stuffed animal depictions of houses, as if we were living in an animated world. So with snow piled everywhere, I put on my suit, jumped in the hot-tub to raise my core temperature, and then went for a swim.

    It was like a waking dream, standing on the diving board with the snow up to my shins, but being perfectly warm (and indeed, the snow melted by the end of the day).

    Maybe that’s what your sister was thinking, and it is what you’ve captured here. Certain things…being barefoot in the snow…they seem like the realm of dreams, don’t they?

    They’re so close to being impossible, and bringing them to life is a wonderful flight of fancy.

    Then waffles afterward? Yes, you’d believe you’d just brought a gorgeous dream to life, wouldn’t you?

    That’s what you did with your photographs 🙂

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 17:40

    • Thank you for sharing this. I was absolutely mesmerized by your descriptive story.

      Like

      March 31, 2010 at 18:39

  36. I love a good waffle! Those made me want to go make some! Craziness, Yep gotta run in the genes….you should meet my family! Heeehehehe!

    God bless and have a wonderful Wednesday!!!

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 19:42

  37. I just saw another post about waffles and PB. I think it’s a sign for me to make waffles.

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 20:01

  38. Yum, that waffle looks delicious — no waffling about that! (I can make terrible puns, too!)

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 20:45

  39. Po

    Frozen feetsicles! I’m not sure I’m hard core enough for that.

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 22:42

  40. I’d be sitting inside eating the waffle with you, Fi, while your Sis freezes her feet!

    Like

    March 31, 2010 at 22:44

  41. I hope your sister went in and had a nice hot waffle after that barefoot walk in the snow. Brr!

    Like

    April 1, 2010 at 01:34

  42. I’m commenting here rather than on your most recent bad pun because I love the idea that Annunciation Day can become Waffle Day just because of mis-hearing!!!!

    I have a punny joke. Well, I think it’s very punny but my family always groan when I tell it.
    Do you know the mushroom who lives down the lane? He likes nothing better than to take a girl out for a meal, crack open a bottle of champagne and then go on to a club to dance the night away. He’s a real fungi to be with.

    OK, OK, I’ll get my coat. But before I do that I’m almost-tagging you. If you want to play along, please come over to my blog to read about it and only join in if you want to. Otherwise, please just take it that I’m recommending others to visit your blog!
    Wishing you and your family Very Happy Waffles,
    Janice.

    Like

    April 1, 2010 at 13:21

  43. I remember that photo of your crazy sister last year..I love it!..she is a one of a kind! We are ahead this year for the moment..winter could rear it’s ugly head any day. I never trust an early spring..although it would be nice! 🙂

    Like

    April 3, 2010 at 05:34

  44. Oh … I love waffles and my mouth is watering as I sip my morning coffee anticipating meeting a friend for brunch later … thinking I just might choose waffles from the menu. Love the paw and footprints in the snow and your sister’s bravery in taking off her shoes in such temperatures. I’m barefoot here almost all the time but we NEVER get snow and temperatures seldom drop into the 40s Fahrenheit … seriously!
    Hugs and blessings,

    Like

    April 5, 2010 at 15:58

Many thanks for your comment

