In stitches: revisited

While I’m away, I thought I would re-post this story as most of you haven’t yet had a chance to really laugh at my domestic skills:

Much as I’d like to paint myself as a saint at school, the label ‘terror’ pops to mind…

And once you have a reputation, then it kind of sticks – like egg on the face or wet spaghetti if you throw it on the wall. (What do you mean you haven’t tried?)

We went to a prison boarding school and lived in dorms. And that meant that every single item of our clothing – school uniform and mufti (i.e. casual clothing) – had to have a name tag sewn onto it!

Once, I had the temerity to show up at the beginning of term with tagless socks. The matron or housemistress decided that I should sew my name tags onto my socks myself.

This was a welcome break from the tedium of homework, so I eagerly turned my attention to this task. It took hours because I was not very good at sewing, but I was determined to do as good a job as possible.

sew

So, sitting on the carpet in my dorm and with my little tongue sticking out, I painstakingly sewed each name tag on lovingly. I was really proud of myself when I had finished. There – laid out on the carpet for all to see – was a line of eight socks.

Bursting with excitement, I called the matron to come and admire my handiwork.

Now, this is where the bit about reputations sticking comes in…

You see, in my efforts to do a good job, I had – quite inadvertently – managed to sew all eight socks onto the carpet! Yes – they were stuck there, held prisoner on the carpet by my childish stitches. (Not sure how I managed this, but it came quite easily at the time.)

Now, any nice or normal person would have laughed off my childish mistake. Not this teacher. She was furious because she thought that I had sewn the socks onto the carpet on purpose. Because, as you know, I was a Major Terror.

I got a terrible telling off. But, at least I was never asked to sew my name tags on anything again.


18 responses

  1. lol. hmmm…wondering how i could have tried that with yard work gowing up…

    hope you are having a blast!

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 01:22

  2. Fi – I believe that you may have done this on purpose! Fess up! (At least you should have utmost patience with your own children’s antics…)

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 02:43

    • Seriously / this was a genuine mistake! Just good at being a failure at domestic skills, I guess!

      Like

      July 19, 2010 at 09:29

  3. That is too funny. And I completely believe it, because while sewing on a button, I once ended up sewing the blouse onto the skirt I was wearing. And I had done such a good job of the sewing too 😦

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 04:43

  4. Kata

    Ah! This explains why I got into trouble for accidentally sewing myself to the settee in the non-TV common room when trying to hem a skirt without taking it off before church one sunday. Miss Payne was cross with me and thought I had done it deliberately and I always wondered why…..

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 06:22

  5. Most of us who sew have done this at one time or another! It seems to be one of the rites of passage – at least you got yours over early!

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 11:12

  6. I can see why people still… ummm .. needle you about this. 😉

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 13:19

  7. Sounds like the prison theme is still running in your mind. You felt you had to imprison the socks, just as you felt. I went to boarding school in the UK, Felixstowe, from 14-18.

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 15:30

  8. All eight of them to the carpet..you are so skilled! Boarding school..I bet you got to read there all you wanted..I would have loved that:)

    Like

    July 19, 2010 at 17:24

  9. LadyFi: That is so funny, your mind told you to do it.

    Like

    July 20, 2010 at 13:12

  10. LOL!! If it’s any consolation I once managed to sew the hem of a skirt to the one I was wearing at the time!!

    C x

    Like

    July 20, 2010 at 19:55

  11. god, it is amazing the sorts of stupid stuff kids become the targets of rage for. talk about a poorly constructed sentence.
    i can’t help seeing a vision of laverne from the old sit com laverne and shirley with an “l” sewed to all her tops.
    funny story. i can see you sitting there with your tongue poking out like michael jordan.
    🙂

    Like

    July 20, 2010 at 20:18

  12. This reminds me of when my mother asked me to embroider handkerchiefs. Once she saw them, she never asked again.

    Like

    July 21, 2010 at 01:18

  13. classic!

    and I’d like to give that little girl a hug, geez

    Like

    July 21, 2010 at 02:04

  14. I wouldn’t want to live the life of a person who couldn’t see the humor in somebody sewing their socks to the carpet – intentionally or otherwise!

    Like

    July 22, 2010 at 04:05

  15. Ha! You were a clever girl Fi! Not really… – Dave

    Like

    July 22, 2010 at 11:54

  16. Great story, one you can share for years.

    Like

    July 22, 2010 at 18:15

  17. Oh that’s a good one! I’ve not managed that, but I sure have mangled many other sewing tasks. Nice story.

    Like

    July 27, 2010 at 23:17

Many thanks for your comment

