Snowflake infinity

It’s all too true that we cannot appreciate what we take for granted…

Like winter (or people), for example.

After seeing large expanses of snow and ice for weeks on end, it might be all too easy to start wishing for spring.

But let us stop and ponder for a moment…

Take the simple beauty of a snowflake: cold, mysterious, capable of inspiring child-like wonder – and yet each one is unique.

Slender needles, delicate ferns, rimed balls or lacy crystals: snowflakes are the tears the clouds send to cheer us up.

Each individual flake is has its own history – and is created by the elements as it falls gently to earth. And no flake is like any other.

Just like us really.

Each flake has its own beauty and is shaped by its journey and experiences. Just like us.

So, next time you are greeted by an expanse of snow – remember that what you are looking at is an infinity of possibilities.

(You can click each photo to enlarge it.)

To see other journeys, please visit: My World!

43 responses

  1. What you write is true, but still, for some winter has lasted too long. For me, here in California it was just about right. Spring comes early in my part of the world.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 06:14

  2. YOu always have such a positive attitude! I am OK with hating winter. 🙂

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 06:32

  3. You always have such wise words, Ladyfi, and I do so look forward to your comments! Thank you! And I certainly cannot whimper and moan this year because we have had such a mild winter — the mildest on record! But it’s still be gray and gloomy. Nevertheless, life is good and I’m an extremely happy woman these days! Why?? nothing in particular, just thankfulness for all that I have. Hope you have a great week!

    Sylvia

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 06:35

  4. Aw, its Autumn here for us and the colder weather on its way. Love your photos and your writing.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 08:13

  5. Beautiful shots. That is lot f snow all in one place.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 09:41

  6. No, I am looking at coldness personified. Give me warmth!

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 10:45

  7. Winter is great when it is crisp and clear. Week after week of greyness and rain is a little more difficult to love.
    But thank you for producing yet another lyrical, positive post – we need more of them!

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 11:06

  8. Snow is gorgeous. Life is gorgeous. Thanks for this post.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 11:27

  9. O.K. That’s it. You’ve got Swedish cabin fever. Yes, yes, the miracle of snowflakes, but try shoveling the stuff. Cobwebs are fantastic, too, but not anywhere near me, please.

    My poor little Oscar – not his usual smiling face, but contentedly high.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 12:13

  10. Nice words and beautiful winter photos. What a lovely post.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 12:36

  11. What a beautiful, thoughtful post. I’m still glad it’s spring here though! 🙂 Greetings from Italy – Louise.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 14:13

  12. LadyFi: Beautiful captures in the snow, I’ve had enough cheering up for the year.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 14:15

  13. Fina bilder. Det ser ut som om ni har lika mycket snö som vi har här i Finland. Idag snöar det här igen.

    Ha en bra dag!

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 15:07

  14. So well written.
    Nice shots too.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 15:34

  15. I love your positive attitude to all this snow. It would have got me down by January

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 16:18

  16. You are certainly right ! but I am sooooo fat up of snow, that I don’t see the beauty anymore, lol !

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 17:29

  17. One snowflake is indeed a miracle of beauty. Fifty trillion of them in my backyard in March would just make me crabby!
    V.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 18:35

    • But wouldn’t they then be fifty trillion miracles of beauty? Or maybe it’s too much for the mind to take… 😉

      Like

      March 2, 2010 at 18:39

  18. Your post made me smile because your pictures (as always) are so beautiful. And because your words are so lyrical and so positive — and so correct. But oh my gosh it does look SO darn cold! I don’t know if I could wax so poetically or so positively through chattering teeth!

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 19:50

  19. I just asked my students to choose two words or phrases to describe themselves. So many of them chose “ordinary” or “nice”. They need to come over here and read your post, Lady Fi.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 20:14

  20. After reading your beautiful post, I almost wish it did snow in my part of the world…almost. 🙂

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 21:01

  21. Clive

    Loved the photos … loved the words!

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 22:15

  22. What a wonderful post reminding us to take nothing for granted and to appreciate everything. Beautiful wintry photos … marvelous ideas! Thanks for sharing both.
    Hugs and blessings,

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 22:19

  23. LadyFi,

    I keep losing you! Don’t know why you don’t show up on my list, but I’ve subscribed again.

    Anyway, great photos. I thought I was so done with snow and winter, living — for now — in West Virginia, the Eastern part of the USA. We had two blizzards on top of each other and I spent hours and hours digging out of the snow, all the while wishing I were back in tropical Africa (where I’d be dreaming of snow 😉

    But, seeing your photos I can only once again appreciate the beauty of the (clean) stuff. Around here we now have mountains of the filty stuff that may take until May to melt away!

    But . . . seeing your photos you can only

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 23:08

  24. Glennis

    Lovely thoughtful words. it would be nice to have a few snow flakes fall now and again, there is great beauty in fresh white snow.

    Like

    March 2, 2010 at 23:56

  25. I love your thoughts on the snowflake. But I’ve always wondered: How do they KNOW each one is different?

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 02:15

    • Scientists research this kind of thing! Yes, really… Just imagine the job title: Snow scientist!

      Like

      March 3, 2010 at 06:36

  26. loved your post and your attitude to life!
    cheers!

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 03:25

  27. Very true, and there’s nothing like a brown spring to remind you that even if it’s no fun to shovel, snow is a good thing.

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 06:58

  28. I can’t take anymore posts about snow….!!

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 09:24

    • Well, that’s all I can offer when buried under two metres of the stuff! 😉

      Like

      March 3, 2010 at 09:53

  29. ok, point taken…it snowed again last night and i grumbled, not i am humbled. smiles.

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 12:03

  30. kelli

    ok, ok… you are right. Although it is driving me nuts, the beauty of it really is magical!

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 17:34

  31. Thanks for the positive post–I really should enjoy the chilly moment and stop wishing it all away.

    Great photos as always.

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 19:01

  32. mark

    I’m so tired of the snow and Winter that I wouldn’t mind going straight to Summer… yes, that bad!
    Lovely photos…. I would miss Spring.

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 19:51

  33. One snowflake does not have to be shovelled. Fifty trillion on the other hand… nuff said!
    V.

    Like

    March 3, 2010 at 23:59

  34. It’s always good to be reminded to find the positive in all that is around us.

    Like

    March 4, 2010 at 03:27

  35. I saw a TV program once about a scientist who photographs snow flakes — there’s a book out there somewhere of his pictures; must look that up.

    Like

    March 4, 2010 at 05:02

  36. very true. however, the good news is the not nice snowflakes die very quickly.

    Like

    March 4, 2010 at 05:58

  37. Then I should mourn the melting..maybe next winter:)

    Like

    March 5, 2010 at 06:08

  38. Catching up with you, Fi and enjoying your photos uniqueness as always.

    Like

    March 8, 2010 at 07:14

  39. love love this post! and the snowy pics~swoon!

    Like

    March 11, 2010 at 20:33

  40. incredible post. really.

    Like

    March 15, 2010 at 03:23

Many thanks for your comment

