Snippets of life

People are fascinating, don’t you think? One week in November last year – before the snows came –  I had the pleasure of observing a range of wonderful characters on the streets of Stockholm, Sweden. It was a fantastic day, with the old cobblestones turned to shimmering gold.

And as I wandered the streets, I observed the following people:

Russian clown escapee? Very tall, gangly bone-thin man with the large black Cossack hat atop fly-away blonde hair and all-too short mustard corduroy trousers ending just above the ankles. Short enough to reveal a pair of elegant ankles encased in scuffed, comfortable-looking boots.

Waiter fashion victim. Oh baby-faced youth! You look as if you should be at school, dreaming about girls and video games instead of clearing plates at the local Asian restaurant with your Adidas nylon sports trousers so low down on your buttocks that the tops of your thighs would be showing if it weren’t for that deliciously long shirt you’re wearing.

Woman fashion victim. Brown buckled knee boots with sandy-coloured harem pants tucked inside. I wonder if we were really designed to have our crotches hanging around our knees?

I definitely need to get out more often! If only to gather more blog fodder…

To enjoy more of the world, please visit: My World!

43 responses

  1. Oh, you have definitely made my evening, Ladyfi! And definitely the best laugh of the day! Isn’t it fun to be able to just kick back and “people watch” for a while! Yes, you do indeed need to get out more and supply us with more laughs! Have a great week! I look forward to more observances of yours!

    Sylvia

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 05:45

  2. God please don’t let those pants cross the border into this country

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 05:46

  3. sure is a wonderful world!

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 05:48

  4. Nothing can ever be as much fun as people watching!

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 05:54

  5. I love people watching. Those diaper pants scare the crap out of me.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 05:58

  6. I love that I get to see Sweden through your eyes. The long-crotch pants, however, would be a fashion faux pas anywhere on the planet.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 06:15

  7. kelli

    those pants are ALL OVER DK! And I just want to put a full length mirror in front of the person wearing them each time…. yikes!

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 06:54

    • You can even get them for kids!

      Like

      February 9, 2010 at 07:19

  8. 🙂 I am glad fashions keep changing. This too shall pass and fade away.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 06:54

  9. Blu

    These pants may have their uses!?.. Save the planet from needing plastic bags just put your shopping down there?

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 07:33

  10. I love watching people too! But you will not find this fashion style here in the country side. But you will see these in Copenhagen. I love your shot of Old Town.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 07:43

  11. I’ve seen such trousers in Romania too. I keep wondering why these nice young ladies are wearing them. they look hilarious!!! great post!

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 07:53

  12. Oh Yep I know I am old when Harem Pants have made a comeback.
    I was thrilled when they were “In” first time around and devastated to know they had Returned….How on earth???

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 08:52

  13. What little I can see of Stockholm, it looks beautiful and solid. As for harem pants… well, better that than tattooing your entire body and piercing your tongue.
    Crotch around the ankles? Not an elegant look.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 08:58

  14. LadyFi: We had a thaw then got hit with another storm with more to come today.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 09:21

  15. The way I see it, if it doesn’t look good on an emaciated model, it won’t look good on me.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 09:37

  16. Fantastic image.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 10:14

  17. Those harem pants have been so big over here over the last year or so. They are the most unflattering thing really

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 11:38

  18. I would never buy that kind of harem pants. Btw, is it really harem cut? As I remember harem it is a beautiful creation, and this is not.

    But, nice post.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 11:42

  19. Thanks for your comment – it was actually you who inspired me to join My World! Thank-you. I love this post. What powers of description you have! I used to wear harem pants. But only when I thought no-one was looking.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 11:43

  20. I like this!
    It also reminds me I should print out model releases and put them in my planner in case I’ll need to photograph people when I’m out and about – say, in Stockholm, on THURSDAY! But writing may be more elegant than just showing photos anyhow.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 12:04

  21. p.s. I think the words fashion victim are quite true. I sometimes can’t believe how gullible people are. When I had to buy new shoes for this winter, there were two styles: super cute little non-leather boots (lucky me!) or thigh-high, high-heeled leather boots. Seriously. In Sundsvall – I find this extra ridiculous because we all suspect people in Stockholm MIGHT wear those boots 😀

    Last time I saw those kinds of shoes were when I watched Pretty Woman as a little girl and my mum explained about her profession and the boots.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 12:09

  22. …and by that I meant the profession of the main character in the movie. My mum is a sort of mathematician who owned a health food shop, thank you very much.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 12:14

  23. I try to refrain from commenting on fashion, no matter how bad I think it is, as I’m usually the one found to be horribly out of date. I try to stick with the jeans and sweatshirt look; hoping it never goes out of style!

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 13:44

  24. On our vacation in Foz, we saw a lady with these low hanging crotch pants! Awful, I tell you!! I hate them! They are even worse than “sh*tcatchers”!!! 🙂

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 14:39

  25. Your photo is full of athmosphere ! very beautiful.
    I had to laugh about the pants of your woman’s fashion victim ! I had the same in red, I bought it Tunesia, it’s an arabic cloth. Very practical when it is hot. In french we call them a “Fart bag”, lol

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 15:21

  26. Ah, good ol’ people watching, made even better by anatomically incorrect clothing.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 18:53

  27. Those pants are ridiculous.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 19:18

  28. You are so right. The world is just full of blog fodder, just waiting for us to notice.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 20:29

  29. Po

    Um. Eeeeuw to the crotch by the knees thing. They look like pyjamas.

    Like

    February 9, 2010 at 21:48

  30. People watching at its best, Fi – and I love the street shot!

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 01:11

  31. Love that street scene. The perspective is amazing.

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 01:20

  32. Thank you for taking us on that tour with you. Your description are very evocative.

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 04:34

  33. The street scene is wonderful. I love the cobbled streets. Those harem pants, on the other hand, are dreadful…it takes a very emotionally secure person to actually wear them in public, I’m thinking!!

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 04:39

  34. Cool. We’re all so jersey-knit coordinates bought at the supermarket when we were picking up milk here where I live. I miss having a little eccentricity thrown in the mix.

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 06:05

  35. Please don’t let my little hippie daughter see those pants!

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 09:17

  36. People ARE fascinating! This time of year, most here in Canada are closeted indoors. I long for warmer days when more people are outdoors to reveal their quirks! 🙂

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 11:14

  37. I just don’t see how those pants could possibly be attractive on anyone!!!

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 13:16

  38. the first pic is wonderful…the pants, they kinda look comfortable…not necessarily practical…smiles.

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 13:32

  39. Yikes! I’d look like a ball with arms in pants like that.

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 14:44

  40. hey, don’t laugh! i actually own a pair of that waiter pants, well, it’s called alibaba pants here.
    in defense to that, it’s very comfy, though unpleasing to look at. ^0^
    as a fashion addict, have to agree that “we” are really fascinating, people show up and dress in the most extra ordinary way. ^0^

    Like

    February 10, 2010 at 15:46

  41. Wonderful photo of your streets..the buildings are so colorful, and close together! We like to people watch too..I am sure that we get a few odd looks too..those pants are a fashion nightmare..but what do I know I have worn snow boots with shorts because my feet were cold:)

    Like

    February 11, 2010 at 03:02

  42. Stockholm is a fun place to see all the strange fashion victims. It gets never boring and there is nothing wrong with that hobby!:-)

    Like

    February 13, 2010 at 07:55

Many thanks for your comment

