The tail of a sick dog

Day one: Actually this tale starts a couple of days before day 1 when Oscar stopped eating altogether (well, apart from those reeds, sticks – and yes, that skate blade protector)! Shortly afterwards, he started rushing upstairs to leave me sticky packets of vomited love next to the bed. In the middle of the night. And then he would complete his love by leaving a few more tokens of affection downstairs – for good measure!

Anyway, when Day One came around I was wondering just how worried I should be. According to the vet, very worried…. So we rushed him into the emergency vet’s, got him hooked up to all sorts of drugs (and no, the vets weren’t sharing) and took X rays to see what was causing the problem.

Sir Pe was Florence Nightingale while I stayed at home with the anklebiters and would have bitten my nails to the quick, if I were a nail biter, that is.

After a long series of X rays, the verdict was that something was blocking his colon – and yes, I’m referring to the dog’s colon here!. Pumped full of antibiotics and nourishing liquids, he was allowed back home. We thought he was going to be operated on the next day and Sir Pe spent the night on the couch next to the dog.

Day two: I thought the dog was going to die in surgery, so I elected to spend the day at the vet’s.

The X rays weren’t in agreement with my verdict and instead they showed that the mysterious UIO (unidentified intestinal object) was on the move. Good news – no surgery! The bottom line that day (if you’ll excuse the pun) was to take Oscar out for cold walks in order to make him poop out whatever was in there!

To no avail.

He was on the drip, off the drip, out for a walk, on the drip, off the drip, out for a walk…

Finally, an enema did the trick and the dog came back full of life and mischief — and a lot emptier too.

Was it a foreign object? We don’t know. The vet on duty on Saturday thought so. The Sunday vet thought it was more likely to be a build-up of gas – a kind of canine colic if you like.

Remind me that my next pet will be something simple – like stick insects, a man or a slinky, perhaps!

For healthier pets, please visit: Pet Pride!

36 responses

  1. Poor baby.. he looks so unhappy in that first photo. I’m glad he’s fine now.. and without invasive treatment.

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 07:12

  2. Ohhh, poor guy! I am so glad he is okay!

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 08:30

  3. I’ll remind you that a slinky, while indeed fun on stairs, cannot bring you nearly as much joy as those big floppy Oscar ears!

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 08:32

  4. Blu

    Oh I am so happy for you!!!!…I have thinking about this dog of yours!

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 10:00

  5. Amy

    Really??? Dogs can get colic? Never even thought that was possible! Hmmmm…learn something new every day, whatever it was…glad it’s gone and Oscar is back to his lovely self!!
    Bently was making puking sounds last night, turned the light on several times to only see yellowish bile type stuff…then one one attempt at puking I heard a giant CLING on the tile floor in the bathroom- turned the light on and went to look and it was a medium size rock all wet and slimy!! STUPID DOG!!!!!

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 11:15

  6. My cat’s been sick and it’s very sad – also offerings everywhere.

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 11:43

  7. Oh my, I am soooo glad that Oscar is well! How scary that the thought actually crossed your mind he might die in surgery.

    My dalmatian would eat everything he wasn’t supposed to — many times I thought he was eventually going to kill himself! Then, after eating said disallowed items, he would wake me up at night and have trouble with the poop end…. I remember on quite a few occasions, walking up and down my street in the middle of the night, as I had discovered that walking him would often do the trick. I very much DID NOT want to don my clothes at 3 a.m., esp when I had to go to work the next day, but I knew that ultimately it was the best way to handle the situation.

    Here’s hoping that Oscar won’t eat any sticks or reeds or skate blade protectors in the future!

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 14:06

  8. I’m so sorry. We’ve been through this same thing with our dog, Mary. She had a linear blockage and unfortunately wasn’t able to poop it out. It almost killed her. Three surgeries, 50 stomach staples, several blood transfusions, two weeks in the dog hospital, and eight thousand dollars later… we still have her. It was awful!

    So glad Oscar is feeling better! It’s heartbreaking to watch an animal suffer.

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 15:01

  9. AL

    Good to see Oscar is fine again. I hate to see dogs when they get sick.

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 15:22

  10. So glad that Oscar is back to normal now – if only humans bounced back so quick.

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 15:41

  11. Jen

    It is so hard when they are not well, especially when it seems like it is out of our hands.

    Glad to hear that he is up and running around. A great recovery.

    Jen

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 16:02

  12. I’m so happy there’s a happy ending to Oscar’s problems. My neighbor just lost their 10 year old Lab to a similar malady. After surgery a couple of weeks ago, the blockage returned and the damage was irreparable. Such a heartbreak to lose a beloved fur-friend.
    Hugs and blessings,
    Small Reflections

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 16:18

  13. kelli

    Every time Mads passes gas he says it is unhealthy to keep it in… LOL..as I grimace! So we need to teach Oscar his philosophy…encourage Dog Farting. :o) Glad he is back to normal!

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 16:39

  14. I’m so glad Oscar is back home and healthy! I absolutely love your narrative of the whole situation! You have a great sense of humor and this started my day off with a big laugh and smiles! Hope you and Oscar both have a blockage free day!

    Sylvia, Sam and Mojo

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 18:40

  15. I’m so glad he’s perky and happy again!

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 18:42

  16. J

    ah pets – why do we have them again? (I’m currently looking at the muddy paw prints all over my white egyptian cotton duvet cover).

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 19:18

  17. Never had a dog, but I fully sympathise. It must have been awful for you, as well as for the canine creature. Glad he’s better! 🙂

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 19:47

  18. Poor oscar. I’m glad it all came out all right. (pun intended.)

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 21:52

  19. Boy I am glad he finally pooped..it must have been exhausting for all of you. Hope he stays regular and you have no more incidents:)

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 22:30

  20. Oh, Oscar – glad he passed whatever. He looks rambunctious in the last photo. Hope he continues to improve.

    Like

    January 17, 2010 at 22:58

  21. Clive

    Poor Oscar! That was no fun for him or for the rest of the family!

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 00:37

  22. Kata

    Poor Oskar- glad he’s back to his usual! As you love him dearly we all know you wouldn’t exchange him for anything…!!

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 05:35

  23. Kata

    And at least your children got a good biology lesson out of it, and will know for the future why nurses are so obsessed with people’s bowels!! tee hee

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 05:37

  24. Aahh ! the poor thing ! I wonder what he swallowed maybe an old sock of yours ? Glad that he is fit now again ! and you will probably always have a dog as I will always have cats, lol !

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 09:20

  25. I’m going to be getting Phoebe a dog at the end of August and boy do I dread the costs.

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 09:34

  26. What a relief – literally! It’s so worrying when our pets are ill. Poor Oscar must have been so uncomfortable. Bigger dogs seem to suffer more with intestinal upsets than small ones but let’s hope he’s learned his lesson and will not ingest inedible things again (the operative word being HOPE)

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 12:33

  27. Oh, poor baby. Both of you. I can imagine how worried you were. I was worried just reading it.

    Glad the story had a good ending!
    He Looks very pleased with himself in the snow 🙂

    Quiltworks

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 17:51

  28. I am happy to read its going better !!
    Poor Oskar …..
    We sending him warm hugs
    Kareltje =^.^=

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 21:09

  29. Poor baby! That’s terrible!

    Like

    January 18, 2010 at 22:04

  30. i am glad he is fine now…a tick pet sounds simple…and was that a crack at us guys…i am a lot more complex than i look. smiles.

    Like

    January 19, 2010 at 01:12

  31. So good to see Oscar up and around and Frisky again. I can only imagine both the anguish and the relief you have been through.

    Like

    January 19, 2010 at 02:29

  32. I’m so happy Oscar is well, but I have to ask you a question. Are vets and surgeries ridiculously expensive in Sweden? In the U.S., prices are so high. Fortunately I’ve found a great vet who is far more reasonable.

    Like

    January 19, 2010 at 14:19

    • Yes, vet fees are really high! Luckily, we have insurance so that after we paid the first 2.500 kronor, the rest was covered and paid for by the insurance company right there and then at the vet’s so we didn’t have any hassle at all.

      Like

      January 19, 2010 at 15:53

  33. Oh dear … I’m so glad this story had a happy ending!!! And poor Oscar looks so awful in the first photo. Breaks my heart.

    Like

    January 20, 2010 at 01:45

  34. Maria Leing

    Nice blog Fiona – I really enjoyed your info on Oscar – I told Pete that I thougth you had a nice blog with beautiful pictures – I also love taking pictures.

    Fiona du har en jättefin blogg med vackra bilder (jag älskar att fota) – bra rapport över Oscars äventyr – det här med djur är väldigt känsligt för mig.

    Like

    January 22, 2010 at 22:51

    • Tack Maria! Har du en blogg själv?

      Like

      January 23, 2010 at 07:37

Many thanks for your comment

