Feet in the clouds

It is cold and snowy. The bitter wind blows the snowflakes into my face as I plod homewards with the kids. Going from school to home along the slippery pavement requires effort and concentration.

Head downwards, I concentrate on my shoes – and my troubles. I will my feet to stay rooted to the pavement, pray for gravity to pull me pavementwards, to anchor me…

Suddenly, from behind me, sweet singing soars upwards, like balloons filled with musical air flying up, upwards to meet the snow and the stars.

It is the children, singing a song to welcome in the winter, to embrace the snow, to dance on the wind.

I look up and smile.

My feet are free from their tethers and I lose myself in that single snow-filled magical moment of song and joy.

It is only a moment, yet it is my whole world.

26 responses

  1. lilalia

    What a song of rejoicing! Thank you. I’ll take this song with me out today.

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 08:53

  2. Nice reminder that even in a lousy snowy moment there can be beauty.

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 09:43

  3. Beautiful prose……sweet moment. Aren’t kids perfect for grabbing our emotions in both hands and focusing us on the joy?!? How would we LIVE without JOY?!

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 11:10

  4. You are so poetic! I think you live in the right place. Love the picture too!

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 11:20

  5. Children’s high sweet voices – when in tune – are adorable. I don’t think snow is though. I’m a slider and a skidder and have rotten balance. Good luck with keeping upright

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 13:04

  6. It’s alwasy nice to be able to view the world through the eyes of a child, when everything is magical – even the bitter cld and ice!

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 13:32

  7. What a beautiful photo! Makes me hate winter less.
    And your poeticness.

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 14:33

  8. P.S.
    I meant I like your poeticness, always have.
    This cold is making me sound stupid since everything I say and write is filtered through the virus cloud around my head. ciao.

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 14:33

  9. Absolutely beautiful. I’m stalling taking the dog for a walk at this moment.. hoping that the temperatures warm some first. It looks about this cold out there. 🙂

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 15:02

  10. Breathtaking picture and poetry to boot! Thanks for the super great read!

    You have on terrific day full of heavenly blessings!!!

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 15:19

  11. Carol

    That was a beautiful post….my heart soared when you reached the bit about the voices 🙂

    C x

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 16:47

  12. Jen

    I love these moments that you write about. They capture the spirit, and the joy in your life.

    It made my heart soar, just reading it.

    Love, love, that photo. Stay warm.

    Jen

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 16:53

  13. You always have such a great, positive attitude.

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 17:37

  14. Blu

    Ouch…did it hurt when you fell over?…ps nice words though.

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 17:56

  15. Gorgeous! I love your words! They make me want to twirl.

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 20:18

  16. Lovely words written 🙂
    We have also snow
    Yeahhhhhhh……
    (@^.^@)

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 21:39

  17. Clive

    Thank you for that! It really struck home!

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 23:52

  18. Jeanie

    Such an uplifting post. We had bitter cold and snow for a week or so recently and I loved walking the dog out in it early in the morning. There is nothing as quiet and peacful.
    Children do have a way of keeping us balanced, don’t they?

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 01:22

  19. and what a beautiful moment to share with us…gave me a smile…and cant wait for the snow tomorrow!

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 02:19

  20. It’s so wonderful when certain magical moments can take us from the mundane to the ethereal!

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 02:24

  21. The ethereal beauty of your photo – the transition from plodding to dancing; well done!

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 02:26

  22. Enjoy the moment and live in the NOW. Something I constantly have to remind myself to do.

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 05:36

  23. You are such a gifted poetic writer. : )

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 14:53

  24. Beautiful photo and beautiful words. Truly.

    Like

    December 18, 2009 at 15:46

  25. Nice poem/commentary, and beautiful photo.

    Like

    December 19, 2009 at 00:30

  26. beautiful. I have to say, that my kid can always bring me out of a slump. Thank God for her, seriously

    Like

    December 19, 2009 at 08:13

Many thanks for your comment

