Where angels sing…

Winter blasted its way in – if  only for a short, giddy moment of sunlight and frosted beauty.

For a couple of crispy sweet days, the very air seemed to tremble and sing with the promise of winter.

Colours seemed more alive against the sugar icing covering of frost; rune stones spoke softly of their thousand years of history.

Here – in this old meeting place – where Vikings used to get together to give out justice and sort out their problems; where two one-thousand-year-old rune stones witnessed the rise and fall of mighty men and times gone by…

Here, in the utter silence between the crunch of frost and my heartbeat, between what has been and what is yet to come…

… just for a second, I thought I heard the angels singing.

For more glimpses into the world we live in, please visit: That’s My World!

41 responses

  1. Oh, LadyFi! What a beautiful post! I love the rune stones! I love the LONG history your world has and I can easily see why you thought you heard angels singing! So did I!

    Have a beautiful week!

    Sylvia

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 06:28

  2. Wonderful insight into history. It is good to see the writings on stones has survived test of time.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 06:29

  3. I’m sure it looks exactly the same now as it did then.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 06:55

  4. Yep, I hear the angels singing too 🙂
    xo

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 08:09

  5. Amy

    Beautiful post and beautiful photos!

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 08:31

  6. All I can think is, why didn’t they just write left to write? Nice place to do it, though.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 08:46

  7. Beautifully written! I think I re-read it ten times at least 😀

    And gorgeous pictures! I’m so glad I stopped by your world today 🙂

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 09:53

  8. J

    So beautiful and atmospheric, it looks quite magical – as if possible a hungover Viking is going to wake up under a tree and ask you what you’re doing there.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 10:15

  9. Lovely, evocative blogpost.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 10:38

  10. That second photo is beautiful. Looks like the stones are old people looking back at their lives and reminiscing.

    No snow even in Umeå.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 11:19

  11. I always love the view of the lake. Looks good any time of the year!

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 12:23

  12. I am sure you did hear the angels singing. 🙂
    Such beautiful scenic view.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 13:20

  13. I could just see myself amidst the runes and the Vikings from your description. Now I feel cold, although I do have the heating on. Yes, even in southern California, we need the heating sometimes.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 13:54

  14. Beautiful. How could one be near those rune stones and not feel an air of ancient mysteries. Wow.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 14:19

  15. Jeanie

    So beautiful. You really brought the feeling to us with your words and pictures.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 15:10

  16. What a lovely winter wonderland … complete with runes and mystery! Thanks for sharing your lovely world through these photos 😉
    Hugs and blessings,

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 15:42

  17. Clive

    Just the calming and insightful post I needed today. Thank you.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 17:11

  18. I feel a bit bad because of my mini-rant about people wearing colourful clothes that might not go. I like colourful patterns but I like them best when they are all from a colour spectrum that really blends together well. I’m not really such a fashion fascist

    The colours of nature are the best of all

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 17:28

  19. I could create so many tales from this photo…

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 18:08

  20. Thanks for the flight of history fantasy in the woods. The red colour of the stone and the carvings really shine among all that frost.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 18:37

  21. Fantastic post
    I now your country is beautiful
    My wish is to visit it once 🙂

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 20:15

  22. dowhatyoulove

    What an amazing place to visit. All that history. And what amazing things those stones must have seen over the years!

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 20:18

  23. kelli

    Fi, this is beautiful. The pics. The words. The sentiment.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 21:10

  24. Po

    You are a poet at heart Ladyfi! Beautiful writing.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 21:29

  25. LadyFi: what a wonderful capture from a special place.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 22:09

  26. Oh so lovely. you capture a world of history in such a few beautifully well-chosen words and two perfect pictures. I am in awe.

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 22:31

  27. if only the rock could speak. I’m being serious. I love history and to hear it first hand would be incredibly albeit impossible in this case, I know

    Like

    December 8, 2009 at 23:33

  28. Lovely words and photo. I lvoe the rune stone and the scenery is gorgeous!

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 02:09

  29. So beautiful … both words and pictures.

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 02:30

  30. Now this is really special..you have outdone yourself Lady Fi.. you are so good with words..and the photos are pretty terrific too!! 🙂

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 04:15

  31. Jen

    Such a beautiful post, I was enraptured with the story, living it through your words.

    Great shots, what a stunning piece of history you are fortunate to live near by it.

    Jen

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 04:44

  32. oh, that’ s how these stones are called. Thanks for the beautiful post. Really nice!

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 08:56

  33. Amazing history and beautiful photos

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 18:32

  34. Just beautiful.

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 21:44

  35. Wow, an actual rune stone! What wonderful colors, much like red Geoergia (USA) clay.

    Thanks very much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment!

    Jane

    Like

    December 9, 2009 at 23:35

  36. How perfectly lovely is this! The photos and the history…our temperature was 70 today when it should be 40…hope we get back to normal soon! thanks so much for stopping by my place and leaving such a lovely comment!
    Sandi

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 00:05

  37. Beautifully expressed – I sometimes feel like this… Your photos are wonderful.

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 01:35

  38. Your writing pulls me into a beautiful landscape.

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 02:16

  39. Neo

    Ancient scripts..wow nice…

    Thanks for these lovely pics.

    TC
    Enjoy

    Like

    December 10, 2009 at 10:49

  40. LOVE LOVE LOVE the runes. And I could sit and bask in the glow of that lake scene. Yep. Singing angels for sure. Much to sing of. Quiet joy, peace, and serenity. Ahhhhh.

    Like

    December 11, 2009 at 10:17

  41. What a neat combination, the beauty of winter and the ancient stone. Amazing photos, LadyFi

    Like

    December 17, 2009 at 15:42

Many thanks for your comment

