It’s just a number…

Welcome to my birthday party today! That’s right – I just happen to be a year older on this very day.

How old? Well, I like to say that age is just a number and that it’s the life in your years that counts… But if you push me, I have to confess that my age has a 0 in it.. and a 5… (though not necessarily in that order)!

For some strange reason, this is an important age in Sweden and after discussing it with their friends, the anklebiters have come to some conclusions:

Anklebiter #2 (6.5 years old): “Mama, when you’re 49 years old,Β  you can still play with children. But when you’re 50,Β  you have to stop…”

My reply? You only have to stop ifΒ  you grow up as well as old.

Anklebiter #1 (8 years old): “All my friends are jealous that you’re so old.” (Why – thank you!) “You’ll have to take lots of rests when you turn fifty though…”

Ahhhh – if only!

And if I am to go through a mid-life crisis, then I’m not sure which one it should be, as Steve Toltz so amusingly put it:

“There were no two ways about it: I was in a crisis. But recent shifts in the behaviour of different age groups made it hard to know what type – How could it be a midlife crisis when the forties were the new twenties, the fifties the new thirties . . . I had to read the lifestyle supplement to make sure I wasn’t going through puberty.”

For more slices of life, check out: That’s My World!

41 responses

  1. Well, Happy Birthday! my friend! Since I’m 76 and old enough to be your mother, you’re just a child to me, so feel young and beautiful — which you are and enjoy a marvelous birthday and with many more to come!

    Have a great week!

    Sylvia

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 06:15

    • I remember feeling quite elderly when I turned 50, and now I’m almost 79 I feel like a spring chicken! You’re just approaching the carefree years. Enjoy!

      Like

      December 1, 2009 at 07:03

  2. Happy birthday friend!
    Just enjoy the present!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 07:11

  3. Happy Birthday — from someone old enough to be your mother, so I better believe that age is just a number.

    The big 5-0 gets a lot of attention around these parts too.

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 07:19

  4. Many many happy returns of the day.

    Wish you many more such years and happy blogging.

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 07:26

  5. Happy Birthday to you. 50 is a special day in this country too. When a lady gets 50 she sees Sarah as said so they give her a cake or something funny with that name Sarah on it. My oldest son will be 50 next year so you could be me daughter. Still very young to me as I am 71. Oh my…

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 09:55

  6. edj

    Happy Birthday! πŸ™‚ And that cake ROCKS! May you live long and proper and keep blogging πŸ˜‰ (I adore Cake Wrecks)

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 12:37

  7. Any age with a 0 and a 5 gets lots of notice. Enjoy what’s left of your day, take several naps, and soak those ancient muscle groups. Happy birthday!!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 12:50

  8. Jeanie

    Happy birthday! My fifities are only recently in my rear view mirror and I highly recommend them….a great time. Enjoy your birthday and all the best to you for the new decade you are entering. Believe me, you can definately still play, a lot.

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 14:23

  9. Po

    Happy birthday, enjoy all those rests!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 14:25

  10. Wait just a minute! I said that 40s are the new 20s first. Happy birthday!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 14:54

  11. Happy birthday! I was just thinking, when reading the age of your kids, you will be going through menopause, when they hit the teenage years…. πŸ™‚ That should be fun! πŸ™‚ j/k
    I think your kids will keep you feeling young for a long time!!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 15:02

  12. Happy Birthday! ( I plan to turn 29 again this year!)

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 15:34

  13. Jen

    Happy, happy Birthday Girl!

    Oh by the way, do you need to take a nap for a moment?

    You are young, and I love that Steve Tolz quote. Yes, just what age group are we all heading into?

    Have a wonderful Birthday.

    Jen

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 16:26

  14. Happy Birthday! You still look like Diane Keaton to me. You look beautiful! Enjoy your day! πŸ™‚

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 16:37

  15. Happy birthday!!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 17:27

  16. Happy birthday! Thank you for visiting My Muskoka !

    I, too, am a December baby. But on the 26th, and on that day add 3 to your number! My baby brother turned 50, and he’s totally in denial. πŸ™‚
    My husband just turned 60, but has the heart of a kid, while doing Meals on Wheels, etc.

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 19:01

  17. Happy Birthday Lady Fi, loved your post anklebitters included!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 19:07

  18. GRATTIS – Happy Birthday, spring chicken! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 19:12

  19. Wishing you the happiest of birthdays and many more to come. πŸ™‚

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 19:54

  20. haha!! HAppy birthday!! Forget the ankelbiter wisdom!!But yes, you can totally take a lot of rest now that you have permission!!!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 21:10

  21. kelli

    Your kiddoes sound PRECIOUS!!And I say take their advice…”take lots more rests now”!! :o) Hope your day has been wonderful!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 21:13

  22. Happy Birthday, and thanks for all your support! PS Love the quote about puberty. I hated going through the teenage years, but a someone also knocking on the door of mid-life it doesn’t seem so bad after all… πŸ™‚

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 22:23

  23. Happy birthday! I hope you had pie and cake for breakfast! How lovely!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 22:36

  24. Happy Birthday!

    As far as the cake – no need to live ‘proper’, you’re more fun the other way!

    Like

    December 1, 2009 at 23:41

  25. Clive

    Wishing you a very Happy Birthday!

    from all the gang in Dublin …

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 00:24

  26. Happy Birthday to you πŸ˜‰
    Don’tcha know that life BEGINS at 50 and gets better with every year??? Savor everything …
    Hugs and blessings,

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 01:49

  27. Happy Birthday!! The best thing about being older is that you can do whatever you please, and attribute it to eccentricity. πŸ™‚

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 05:43

  28. Happy Birthday Lady Fi!! Oh I hope your day was as special as you are! Congrats on the big 50..it seems so young. Love your anklebiters and their advice..they will keep you young, at least until they are teenagers! πŸ™‚

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 06:22

  29. lilalia

    A very special birthday wish to you! A dear old friend of mine once told me that there is one decade in your life that you find difficult to land your feet in. Mine was 40 for a lot of reasons. Landing into 50 was like sliding into a comfortable pair of slippers. I hope that it is the same with you.

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 07:50

  30. Hey!! We’re both Sag’s πŸ™‚ Mine was on Monday….46. Happy birthday big sis :)))

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 09:15

  31. SirPe

    A lovely day was had by all yesterday, and seriously, LadyFi doesn’t look a day over 32!

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 10:28

  32. Compared to me you are a young girl, lol ! theoretically I could even be your mother. (I am 66) but as you say it’s not the years which counts but how you feel in your head ! Happy birthday !

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 11:16

  33. hey lady fi
    happy happy happy birthday!!!
    sending lotsa love and good thoughts.

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 12:15

  34. Alas…sometimes I feel sad that I’m growing old day by day…I’m 24 right now.

    Sad

    Thanks
    TC

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 13:04

  35. I hit this birthday almost two years ago now and do you know what – I still feel silly and flappery – I think you can feel like any age you want to be.

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 17:14

  36. Happy 0 birthday & 5 to you!…but not necessarily in that order.:-)

    Like

    December 2, 2009 at 19:23

  37. Happy (Belated) Birthday!!!

    Like

    December 3, 2009 at 17:46

  38. Yeaaaaaaahhhhh……
    Happy Birthday πŸ™‚
    I almost missing your big party ……. LOL
    (Next year ( I am also 50 😦
    I don’t like it when I be honest to you but we can help it
    we are so young as we are feeling… )

    Like

    December 3, 2009 at 20:46

  39. I agree with you … age is a state of mind, not a number.

    And the quote is so funny!!!!

    And if being 50 means you get to take naps, I’m looking forward to it!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Like

    December 5, 2009 at 13:51

  40. Happy Birthday, Fi! I’m LOTS older and let me tell you – still no rest! Wishing you many more celebrations…

    Like

    December 6, 2009 at 21:49

Many thanks for your comment

