Grey is the new light

My small slice of the world has been wrapped up in soft grey tissue paper.

And sprinkled now and then with pearls. In this case, the luminous moonstone white of the swans bobbing upside down in search of food.

And just when I think the soft grey clouds are winning, I catch sight of a splash of tinsel, a dab of gold.

We have to embrace the grey too. After all, it is a part of life’s mosaic.

And look – the soft grey pastel tones have a near-magical quality!

What greys will you embrace today?

To see other colourful parts of the world, please visit: That’s My World!

40 responses

  1. I love the way these grey shades have inspired you!
    Magical shots!

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 06:14

  2. Hey, it’s the gray season and it is definitely the “new light” in Seattle these days! Terrific shots! They do say it so well and there is even beauty in gray! Just have to look a little harder!

    Have a great week!

    Sylvia

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 06:25

  3. It really amazes me that I could take your pictures and put them in my blog and say they were current pictures from here in Oregon. Anyone here would believe me completely. (Except that they’d wonder at how my photography skills had improved.)

    anyway, you would feel right at home here. your post is ia lovely reminder to enjoy what the seasons bring.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 06:27

  4. kelli

    I can embrace the grey (usually) except for the grey shooting out of my scalp. That must go! ;o)

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 07:07

  5. Amy

    As a positive person I’m doing my best to embrace grey…really…I am….and looking at your beautiful photos sure helps! :-))

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 07:34

  6. Gray is such an elegant color.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 09:44

  7. You certainly portrayed grey in a stunning way with your photos. And I love the magical effect!

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 10:39

  8. You have beautifully narrated your world with wonderful snaps.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 11:17

  9. You give me strength to embrace our “grey” time of year. To see the beauty in every season. Of course with water everything looks better… 🙂

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 11:24

  10. Soon grey will be my colour too. :)) We totally have to figure out a meet-up at some point. 🙂

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 11:37

  11. There isn’t anything much more mysterious and lovely than a misty lake in autumn. Beautiful pics.

    What grey will I embrace today? The dozen or so silvery-grey hairs which catch my eye every now and then. I’ll embrace them with my thumb and index fingers and yank those suckers right out of my head. 😉

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 12:15

  12. I never tire of mist in autumn. The effects over water are endlessly changing, endlessly beautiful. Lovely pics!

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 13:08

  13. Your photos are soothing but I cannot embrace the gray for more than a day at a time. When I lived in Glasgow for a year, I noticed how the gray influenced the moods of people around me. I started going to a tanning booth. That was in my twenties.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 14:46

  14. How serene this place is. It’s nice to see these spots through the seasons in your blog. Catching up after a break …

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 15:12

  15. LadyFi: Nice capture of the pond with the swans, so nicely written.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 15:51

  16. Jen

    Everything looks ethereal and romantic. I like it, well I should, because it is exactly what we are seeing around here. Maybe with a touch of misty fog, rain, and wet.

    Jen

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 16:36

  17. Yes, there is such beauty in the greys, especially at this time of year. Very nicely put and illustrated!
    Janice.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 17:16

  18. The warm brown tone of the reeds is a very beautiful combination with the grey water.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 17:26

  19. You always have the most gorgeous pictures!

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 17:34

  20. J

    I think I can just about cope with the grey – its the cold, the wind and the rain that make me want to hibernate!

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 19:14

  21. Your grey is much prettier than my grey..I am sure of it:)

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 19:48

  22. Gwendolyn

    Lovely set of pictures. Great story along the way. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 19:51

  23. Lovely shots!
    I have a place in the countryside in the wilds of Ontario, Canada. Just an hour north, is another beautiful area that is identical! a “dead-ringer” for the photos you have posted here.
    Incredible! The water, the imagery is very peaceful, serene.
    Very nice narrative you wrote to accompany the images.

    ~Thanks for sharing the gray! in your part of the world.
    ~Sandra Lynn

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 20:26

  24. I hope you have a sunny Thanksgiving! 🙂

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 21:07

  25. Po

    Wow LAdyfi, this sounds like a poem. I have to write a poem about a forest, can I steal this 🙂

    Like

    November 24, 2009 at 21:50

  26. Jeanie

    There is a special, cozy feeling to those grey days, and your pictures have captured it beautifully.

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 03:09

  27. After two weeks of light and sunshine, I have some difficulties to get used to grey again, lol !
    Probably Cairo is very polluted, but I haven’t seen anything that day, maybe because it was a Friday which is the Sunday for muslims, and therefore less traffic.

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 07:07

  28. Grey is beautiful too, as long as it doesn’t stay for days and days. 🙂

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 08:49

  29. I do not know which is more beautiful; the way you wrote or the pictures. Both enchanted me.
    My world is full of my greying hair if that counts.

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 16:21

  30. I’ll definitely love to take a stroll every evening at this nice breezy little world.

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 18:35

  31. Sending giggles and pie your way for Thanksgiving!

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 19:01

  32. I love the light at this time of year. It’s so meditative.

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 20:16

  33. Soft and gentle.

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 20:56

  34. “We have to embace the greys, too….” Boy. Ain’t it the truth. I needed that bit of wisdom today in a tangible way. I will keep your photos in my mind. I only like grey if it’s bringing rain. Pervasive grey gets to me. But you’re right….it’s all a part.

    Like

    November 25, 2009 at 22:11

  35. Clive

    I could live with your ‘greys’ – great photos and commentary!

    Like

    November 26, 2009 at 00:26

  36. Love your gray scenes, they are very pretty to me. The swans are pretty too.

    Like

    November 26, 2009 at 02:12

  37. The grays you’ve captured are magical!

    Like

    November 26, 2009 at 02:21

  38. Wonderful pics. I just wanted to pop over and wish you and your fam a great Thanksgiving holiday!

    God bless ya’ll!!!

    Like

    November 26, 2009 at 03:07

  39. Kata

    Grey is busy time in our household as it presages dawn and the cats have a ‘scamper’ time before going to sleep as the heat of the day sets in!

    Like

    November 27, 2009 at 10:38

  40. Hi Lady Fi,
    Late visiting but I want to tell you that the dreamy photos are wonderful – everyone need a little gray sometimes…

    Like

    November 29, 2009 at 17:13

Many thanks for your comment

