Colours on my mind

The weather has been grey – both within and without.

But then I decided to open my eyes, to look out and seize the beauty of a moment or two.

Red

To drink in this glorious blaze before the fade, where trees rise up from golden pools of light like graceful girls with flaming red hair.

Ablaze

I walked on the golden carpet, focused inwards… Then I looked up and saw I was surrounded by a halo of light, a tunnel of friendly leaves.

Fire

So, drink in the colours, apply the balm to your soul and celebrate the autumn – which blazes so magnificently as it slowly fades away.

For more great posts, please visit: That’s My World!

34 responses

  1. What beautiful pictures. Fall colours are so beautiful.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 10:30

  2. This is what I try to do to, as you have seen. Absorb everything, all the colours and the light, before it is erased by the snow & hidden in the dark.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 11:21

  3. Po

    I have to agree, autumn is most beautiful! Warwickshire in the autumn is stunning, not to mention Oxford.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 11:25

  4. Amy

    It really is one of the most stunning seasons- mother nature at her very best!!! I love it!! Thanks for sharing such gorgeous photos of a beautiful season!

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 11:34

  5. I love autumn. More than all the other seasons. What a shame it fades so quickly every year. Winter just doesn’t do it for me.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 11:51

  6. Gorgeous pictures, Ladyfi. I have missed autumn so much since moving abroad. Thanks for sharing these. 🙂

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 12:24

  7. I always enjoy the colours of autumn, nice pictures!

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 12:29

  8. You captured the autumnal colours so much better than my poor attempts. I blame my camera, of course…

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 12:33

  9. Beautiful! Autumn has always been my favorite season!

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 12:43

  10. J

    splendid leaves, and splendid advice. Sometimes it can be easy to miss things that can lift our day.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 12:45

  11. So so beautiful! I´m glad you seized the moment and showed us these!

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 12:57

  12. Jen

    A lovely post, beautiful saturated colors, and great texture.

    Nice to have been able to take a walk with you.

    Lady Fi, thanks for the uplifting comment on my blog. I am focusing on the beauty of the autumn, not the dying part. But that doesn’t motivate me to get my self out there to do the fall cleanup. LOL.

    Jen

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 15:52

  13. That was absolutely lovely.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 15:58

  14. I’ve got to say it – when I look at the photos on wordpress they do come out better than on blogger – better sizing. Plus you take bloody good photos, I suppose that could be it really.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 16:01

  15. Man, these are gorgeous!

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 16:19

  16. I hate autumn and therefore can’t find any beauty in these dying leaves ! I prefer spring when they are so nice an green and the air smells fresh.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 16:51

  17. Surrounded by halo of light…that sounds heavenly and like a religious experience. I like it when nature offers that.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 16:55

  18. Absolutely stunning!!

    C x

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 17:19

  19. I believe that nature offers us such incredible beauty in all seasons — if we take the time, make the effort to see it and you have. These are fantastic shots! Beautiful post and a great reminder to make the effort, open our eyes and see the beauty — in every season! Thanks for the reminder!

    Enjoy!

    Sylvia

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 17:22

  20. Isn’t it wonderful to find brilliant color in the most grey and dull day?

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 18:58

  21. So beautiful, and so well described.

    Like

    October 27, 2009 at 22:18

  22. That much color has to bring a glow to one’s soul. A beautiful tribute to fall.

    Like

    October 28, 2009 at 02:28

  23. So good that your spirits were lifted by the beauty of nature around you. Our autumn was beautiful but short, and over as of today with a snowstorm bringing it to abrupt end.

    Like

    October 28, 2009 at 14:00

  24. I love the golden tones and find nature brings in so much beauty to our lives. Do you like to paint? I always get inspired to paint, but as with you, perhaps finding extra time is a factor?

    Like

    October 28, 2009 at 14:10

  25. Lovely post. There’s nothing like the beauty of nature to help you through those grey moments. And you’re so lucky to have it all around you.

    Like

    October 28, 2009 at 17:22

  26. Beautiful! Loved looking at your golden photos..we have lots of Grey going on around here..I am tired of winter already..and it is not even here yet:(

    Like

    October 28, 2009 at 18:59

  27. As the others have said, stunning photos. Thank you for sharing these. Autumn is my favorite time of year…not too hot, not too cold, colorful, great smells, and the anticipation of holidays. Just wonderful.
    Galen.

    Like

    October 28, 2009 at 19:33

  28. oh, I miss the East Coast at this time of the year. Boy do I.

    Like

    October 29, 2009 at 00:01

  29. Another lovely poetic post. I love love love the fall colors …and it so gloomy when the last leaves fall and the trees are naked for winter. Sigh.

    Like

    October 29, 2009 at 02:06

  30. those colors almost do not seem real….

    Like

    October 29, 2009 at 06:56

  31. absolutely stunning scene. if ever i open my eyes, i hope i cud have a view as pretty as this. i know it is hard to take photos at gloomy conditions but your photos turned out great.

    Like

    October 29, 2009 at 07:43

  32. So beautiful there. Fall is gone here and I just love seeing all the pictures of the beauty elsewhere in the world.

    Like

    October 29, 2009 at 14:54

  33. Nydelig!!

    Like

    October 30, 2009 at 20:49

  34. Lovely, looks much like my yard.

    Like

    October 30, 2009 at 22:39

Many thanks for your comment

