Derailed continued

How to panic in style… a continuation of the story I started yesterday. (Just scroll down – it’s the post before this one. You can thank me later for making you exercise your fingers.)

So there I was – alone on a cold platform – with the knowledge that the train on which I had left my rucksack would be thundering past without stopping at our little station…

I phoned Sir Pe in … yes, you guessed it! … a panic. “You have to drive me to the next station! NOW” I said in dulcet tones screamed down the phone. The kids were rounded up, their evening meal unfinished, and thrown into the car. Sir Pe picked me up and we dashed to the next station.

A train drew up and I ran through the compartment looking for my rucksack.

Nothing.

Roslagsbanan0

I ran down the platform, still half-bawling, half-mad (it’s a fetching look and highly appropriate for the upcoming Halloween season) and, without any difficulty, managed to attract the conductor’s attention.

“Your backpack? Is it red and green? Don’t worry – I’ve got it!”

“You’re an angel!” I gushed as he unlocked the room on the train where he had stashed my offending bag. “You’ve saved me! Thank you.”

“It’s all part of the service,” my angel smiled, brown eyes twinkling in a face that has seen far more than this.

“I just want you to know that you’re still an angel!” I cried, resisting the temptation to throw my arms around his cheerful round body.

Scenery

So there you have it: what a week and it was only Monday. A day in which I lost my luggage and my mind, and was saved by an angel, a knight in shining armour and two small side-kicks.

My luggage has been restored to me… So that leaves only one question.

Have you seen my mind?

31 responses

  1. SirPe

    I’ll keep a look out for it, and be sure to let you know if I find it 😉

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 09:34

  2. minds are overrated…mine has been lost for quite some time now!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 09:42

  3. no, but I do see a very nice photo full of motion and energy

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 10:00

    • Thanks! My daughter took this photo when she was 7.

      Like

      October 16, 2009 at 10:41

  4. I’ve not seen yours but if you find mine on your travels can you post it back to me?

    Glad you got your bag back 🙂

    C x

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 10:32

  5. Kata

    Thought you lost that ages ago!!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 10:41

  6. A mind is a terrible thing to lose. LOL

    Thank goodness someone found it and turned it in!! You probably made that guy’s week. He got to tell stories about the crazy lady with teh missing bag for days afterward. :p

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 10:53

  7. I found a rather lost looking mind moving around. Should I round it up and send it on?

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 11:11

  8. Whew! Way too much excitement for a monday!

    I’m pretty sure your mind has gone to wherever missing socks go. You must have leaned too far into the dryer one day and WHOOPS, there went your mind through the sock vortex. Happened to me once. Or twice. I’m not really sure which mind I’m on at this point, but my insurance has assured me that I’m over my limit and cannot expect another replacement. And that is why my husband does the laundry now. It has nothing to do with me turning my whites pink. Nothing.

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 11:34

    • Nearly peed my pants..the mind goes where all the socks are at.. that is funny! 🙂

      Like

      October 16, 2009 at 22:03

  9. I´m so glad it was a happy ending! And about your mind….haven´t you heard? They grow back! Just in time for your kids to turn teenagers, then it goes flying again….. 🙂

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 12:51

  10. Nice of the driver to keep your backpack. Great that you managed to recover it. It reminded me of my careless son, he left his school file in the coffee shop and I have to hurry to the coffee shop and look for the file with him. Luckily the shop owner kept it safe in the cupboard and returned to me when I asked if he saw any school file there. I hope you find your mind…lol.

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 14:05

  11. OH! I’m so glad you got your bag back! Yesterday when you left us hanging I was all NO! What happened? I hate to not know. Surprises kill me. My little sister is always the one to say, I got your birthday/christmas present today and it is GREAT. And I need to know. So I bug the heck out of her.

    Anyway…where was I going with that? BUT YAY! Yay for twinkling eyed conductors with missing bags and knights in shining armor! My worst nightmare is leaving my purse somewhere. Im the person that carries everything with me. I would be a total loss to lose my bag. Glad you had a happy ending!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 15:27

  12. Jen

    There is nothing like the overwhelming panic of losing ones important things. Glad to hear that you got it back. Dare I say, you were very fortunate. What a great driver.

    Dear Lady Fi, I do hope that you recover your lost mind quickly.

    With Regrets,

    Jen LOL.

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 15:28

  13. What a great ending!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 16:51

  14. listoplisto

    I was going to guess that the driver stopped the train at your station when he saw your dangerously crazy look of panic, and that he then took a detour to drop you off at the nearest spa (or asylum, whatever 😉

    I’m glad to hear that the backpack found it’s way home, and I wish you a cheerful (and less crazy) weekend!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 17:23

  15. You beat the train to the next station?? Wow. That’s some fast driving.

    There are so many of us now living without minds that you’re in good company. Welcome!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 18:19

  16. I can only imagine the relief you felt when your angel had your bag. I can’t help you with your mind, but after reading the comments, you’re in good company. Me too!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 21:40

  17. Po

    Is your mind blue and squishy, oops no that’s my pillow 🙂

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 22:06

  18. Ah Lady Fi, You have made me chuckle with this one..excellent story. I am deeply saddened that you got a nasty lookin haircut and that you have momentarily lost your mind..maybe it needs a rest. Good thing for honest people and your knight and the hungry sidekicks..I do hope you let them finish their supper after your crisis was over:)

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 22:08

  19. Thank goodness you got it back. I was thinking maybe you did. When something similar happened to me, it wasn’t so much panic as terror…lots of info on the laptop. But, as I noted yesterday, it’s now locked down pretty tight. Have a great weekend.

    Best Regards, Galen

    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    Like

    October 17, 2009 at 00:51

  20. You can’t beat a good story with a knight in shining armour as the hero, saving the maiden in distress. I definitely felt your panic, and I’m glad it turned out well.

    Like

    October 17, 2009 at 03:38

  21. Wow, that’s amazing he had it and it was returned safely to you. How great is that? I want to know more about the garlic dessert.

    Like

    October 17, 2009 at 12:01

  22. Adele

    Fantastic! If you had the hero’s name, you could send his bosses a letter of commendation. It’s always wonderful when someone goes the extra mile for you.

    Once, about 10 years ago, my son & a couple of friends took the train to the Jersey Shore – except they didn’t, they got on the wrong train. That made for a series of hilarious events. I remember how panicked I was about that!

    Glad you have your bag back safe and sound.

    Like

    October 17, 2009 at 14:23

  23. Sounds like a bit of good luck. Your panic paid off! 😉

    Like

    October 17, 2009 at 15:40

  24. Yes, last I heard it was out having a lovely time with my mind. Apparently they left no forwarding address.

    Like

    October 17, 2009 at 21:14

  25. Oh you poor thing, what a chaotic day you had! So glad you got your sack returned to you – how lucky you were indeed. 🙂

    I agree with Mountain Woman however, we definitely need to learn more about this garlic dessert – egads!!

    Like

    October 18, 2009 at 19:16

  26. Better luck tomorrow!

    Like

    October 19, 2009 at 00:21

  27. I knew it would work out!! And I just loved how you told the story!

    Like

    October 19, 2009 at 01:16

  28. What a sick in the pit of the stomach feeling that must have been! Yippee you got it back.

    Like

    October 20, 2009 at 19:16

  29. Yay! Next time don’t be so chatty with strangers. 🙂

    Like

    October 20, 2009 at 23:42

Many thanks for your comment

