Derailed

It was a hell of a week. And it was only Monday…

It all started off with a bit of bad news, a lunch in which garlic was the starter, main course and dessert (more about that later) and a bad haircut. Fortified by these three factors, I sighed in relief as I waited at the platform for the homeward bound tram. I ran across our next-door neighbour (don’t worry – she wasn’t hurt) and we boarded the train together. I placed my laptop at my feet and stowed away my rucksack containing books, money and credit cards in the gap between the seats.

We launched ourselves  into a deep discussion about life and school as the scenery flashed by. Before we knew it, the tram arrived at our stop and we got off. After only a couple of minutes, I realized that my back felt as empty as my brain obviously was… Now, where was that backpack with my entire life in it?

Scenery_1

Ah yes – on the train thundering northwards.

I blame my neighbour for making me chat too much – because if I don’t blame her, then who else would I blame? … Precisely!

Luckily I had my phone with me so was able to contact the lost luggage division. Who informed me that the train driver only had a radio and couldn’t be contacted.

I arrived home in a mad state: bad haircut sticking up as if electrocuted by my panic, wild look in my eyes. I briefly explained what had happened and Sir Pe said that I could either come in and get warm and hope that my bag turned up at Lost Luggage the next day – or panic.

I did what any sensible person would do: decided to go for the full-blown panic.

I ran back to the station, half-sobbing and half-muttering to myself (see – I can multitask as well as the next nutter!) and waited for the train to come back.

The first train that arrived was not the train I had ridden on. Then I realized that my train would be going back to Stockholm as the fast train and wouldn’t be stopping at our tiny station.

What now?

So, what do you think happened?

This story will be continued tomorrow…

26 responses

  1. A cliffhanger blog!!!

    Losing a bag like that is one of my nightmares – literally, as I’ve actually dreamed of suddenly remembering I left my case containing credit cards etc on a train or in a restaurant.

    So, what do I think happened? You got your bag back somehow.

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 09:14

  2. Oh dear. I have anxiety for you. I’m hoping your bag was returned!

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 09:52

  3. I am hoping that the train made a special stop and gave you your bag back but I think that is probably highly unlikely!!

    I do hope you got your bag back though….there is nothing worse than that sinking feeling when you realise you have left your life in the bag that is zooming away from you!! (can you tell I’m speaking from experience!!)

    C x

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 09:58

  4. oh no! oh no! what will happen next?

    If you forget something on the X2000, give me a call and I’ll catch your stuff and travel right back with it!

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 10:08

  5. You can’t leave it at that, Fi.
    Now, if it is a book, I know you would eventually be reunited with your life, but ….
    … this is real life, and ….
    … you can’t leave it hanging

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 10:08

    • Telling the whole story would be too long… But the ending is written and will be posted tomorrow. Promise!

      Like

      October 15, 2009 at 10:16

  6. Oh I really, really hope someone handed your bag in and everything was there. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a happy ending, Fi!! 🙂

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 10:49

  7. You´re killing me! What happened!!!?? 🙂
    I´m hoping it was a happy ending. You sure know how to get your reader´s to come back for more…..
    (even if it can´t have been fun to do)

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 12:35

  8. Oh dear, welcome to the world of a fellow panicker. I never think I do but then I have to be honest and admit that I do indeed flap when things go missing on public transport.

    I’m guessing that you’ve got your bag back and want to see it confirmed some time today. Lucky it wasn’t England – your bag would be detonated

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 13:16

  9. SirPe

    Dun, dun, Duuuuuun!! Well of course I could spoil the story… but I won’t 😀

    Tune in tomorrow dear reader, same time, same place, for the exciting conclusion of Derailed!

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 13:42

    • I hope and think you mean: dear readers… i.e. all two of them! 😉

      Like

      October 15, 2009 at 13:48

  10. I have no idea! Wow, I would freak out too!

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 13:47

  11. Oh dear! What a wonderful reason to panic! Do I really have to wait 24 hours for the resolution of the trauma? Do you know how many calories I’m going to have to eat to settle my nerves in those 24 hours?! I might as well get started: cinnamon and sugar toast, here I come.

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 13:57

  12. Oh, gracious, I hope this ends well. I can relate to exactly what you’re saying, however. A couple of years ago, I was shopping. Got engaged in whatever the must have article was, and when I left the store (A fly fishing shop, of course.) I left my laptop with my entire life on it sitting by the counter. I realized it when I got to my bus stop. Panicked, ran the entire mile back to the shop. There’s my laptop. Right where I left it. Phew.

    However, I learned lesson. My laptop is now secured with an coded USB key…made by company called Rohos. No USB key…with the proper code? No laptop access. Used it several years now and like it quite a bit. There is an emergency access incase you lose the key…answer questions you make up, and, you can make spare keys, so, there’s not much downside. Considering the amount of personal and critical information on our portable devices, it made sense to me to lock it down as tightly as I could.

    Sorry this got so long.

    Best Regards, Galen

    Imagineering Fiction Blog

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 14:53

  13. That’s very annoying ! I had my wallet stolen 3 weeks ago, fortunately my bank cards I had kept in my parka !

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 16:19

  14. Oh no! I hope it was a happy ending.

    If someone returns it, they deserve a medal of honor.

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 16:31

  15. Did you lose your bag AND your laptop! Oh, what a hellish day. My fingers are crossed for you.

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 19:37

    • I didn’t lose the laptop. Only the bag…

      Like

      October 16, 2009 at 07:38

  16. Let me guess – you bought a ticket to Stockholm to find the train there?

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 19:40

  17. oh no…bad to worse… I am hoping for the best tomorrow!

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 19:41

  18. I hope your week has improved greatly!!!!!

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 21:30

  19. Oh no! We’re hoping for a good outcome! Roll on tomorrow!

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 21:41

  20. Po

    Poor Ladyfi! If it is any source of comfort to you I do similar things quite regularly. In fact I have formed a Buddhist-like detachment from my things because I know that we shall part company sooner rather than later thanks to my carelessness.

    Like

    October 15, 2009 at 23:04

  21. You pulled a Britney and shaved your head.

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 01:52

  22. I think the wonderful people who live in Sweden made a special stop and delivered your bag to you!

    Like

    October 16, 2009 at 03:45

  23. Oh, no! Stinky with bad hair and no stuff. That sucks, I hope you got it back soon after.

    Like

    October 20, 2009 at 23:21

Many thanks for your comment

