Give me a new mindset!

Sweden’s first public TEDx event is taking place this Saturday. We’re called TEDxStockholm (I know – it’s catchy, right?) and are operating under a licence from TED – Ideas worth spreading.

We have a great line-up of speakers: from graphic designers and environmental journalists to the wizard of data bubble software himself, Hans Rosling. Actually in real life Hans Rosling is a Professor of Global Health here in Stockholm, but when he gets up on stage – then watch out! He transforms statistics to magic while also popping every pre-conceived notion you might have about them and us, the poor and the rich, the developed and the developing countries.

He uses statistics, history and facts to show us that the world cannot be divided into such simplistic categories. It is, in fact, a much more complex place. We might be stuck in our old ruts, our traditional mindsets – and he wants to drag us into the modern world and a new way of looking at it. (If you have 20  minutes, this is well worth watching. It’s a talk he gave to the US State this summer.) He is a myth-busting professor that presents his data with all the adrenaline-fuelled passion of a horse racing commentator!

Oh – and have I mentioned that this guru is one of the main attractions on Saturday?

I’ll be there watching and acting as one of the moderators for our discussion groups.

And somewhere along the way, I hope to gain a new mindset!

17 responses

  1. Ouch steady on – my head hurts, it’s a bit early to start using my brain!

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 09:57

  2. Very interesting, thanks for the tip. We’ll watch that on Apple TV.

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 10:21

  3. I joined the Facebook group but still haven’t figured out what it is all about! Shame on me – OR perhaps it is a very mysterious society 😉 I will take a better look at their website and watch the video later… Have had this strange high energy to work a LOT early in the day two days in a row so I’d better make use of it.

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 10:42

  4. Now that is a coincidence. I just came out of a four hour meeting with the delightful man I work for, and a lot of the time we were talking about preparing his speech for when he addresses TED in Bangalore/ Mysore in November.

    Have fun. I know you will!

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 11:53

  5. Have fun! I hope you will post all about it!

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 12:30

  6. Pingback: Twitter Trackbacks for Give me a new mindset! « On a quirky quest with Lady Fi [ladyfi.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com

  7. If you get a new mindset, I’ll be happy to take your old one off your hands for you … I think it is a pretty good mindset!

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 15:30

  8. I could do with a new lot of things – mindset being way down the list

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 16:34

  9. Sounds really interesting! Am going to watch that video now!

    Could do with a whole new mind-set around here!!

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 18:35

  10. Wish I could be there to see you on the panel!

    Like

    September 17, 2009 at 23:30

  11. I love Ted ideas! I am sure it will be an interesting affair! Ted-x Stockholm, almost makes me wanta wear a pair of TED stockings!

    Like

    September 18, 2009 at 03:17

  12. This talk is fascinating!

    Like

    September 18, 2009 at 05:47

  13. I just love these speakers and their sense of humors. I especially enjoyed the way this speaker compared the U.S. with Mexico all the time. Living in California where we “see” Mexico as inferior, I found it very interesting to hear his statistics. You are lucky to be moderating the discussions.

    Like

    September 18, 2009 at 05:50

  14. sounds like a great event!!! Wish I was closer to take advantage of it!

    Like

    September 18, 2009 at 06:25

  15. lilalia

    I’m so envious! What a fantastic opportunity. I’m sure Rosling will be very good, but the other speakers won’t be slackers either. I’d give anything to be the fly stuck on your clipboard…

    Like

    September 18, 2009 at 06:54

  16. It’s only quarter past nine in the morning….I have not had my caffeine yet…..I will have to come back because I KNOW I will not be able to cope with statistics at this time in the morning!!

    C x

    Like

    September 18, 2009 at 09:13

  17. Pingback: An inspirational day « On a quirky quest with Lady Fi

Many thanks for your comment

