Outrageous fortune

fortuneThis debut from Tim Scott, who used to be a plasterer and painter, before turning his hand to humorous sci-fi is a quirky book, which left me laughing out loud while also scratching my head and wondering where the plot had run away to.

Outrageous Fortune can best be described as a fast-paced combination of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. It starts off with dream architect, Jonny X, discovering that his house has been stolen. All that is left is a card from the thieves with the question: Don’t you hate it when this happens?

Things go rapidly downhill from here and he finds himself at the clutches of a parachuting saleswoman who wants to sell him a set of encyclopedias, being chased by a mad motorcycle gang called the Four Horsemen and at the mercy of lifts who tell bad knock-knock jokes.

Fuelled by numerous Long Island Iced Teas at the Most Inconvenient Bar in the World and with the help of his friends, he goes about trying to get his life back.

In this future world, the city is arranged by music zones, where people live in neighbourhoods according to their musical preferences. I must say that I found this rather topical as in this new California, media companies have become so powerful that they now rule the roost.

Throw in a bit of big brother too in the form of the Zone Police and Skin Media that allows your every move to be monitored and a lot of zany humour, and you have yourself a refreshing and entertaining romp. Recommended for all those who like oddball stories, even if the plot gets lost a little now and then.

If you are a fan of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, then you’ll find yourself laughing out loud faster than my kids can say slartibartfast or you can finish a tall glass of Long Island Iced Tea.

16 responses

  1. Oh I am all for a quirky book, but I usually get caught up on quirky right here on your blog! πŸ™‚

    Like

    May 27, 2009 at 18:41

  2. This sounds like an interesting book!

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 00:13

  3. Hitch Hiker’s Guide was great. And I could use the escape — I need to give this one a try.

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 03:17

  4. Thank you I will be ordering this.

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 07:37

  5. This sounds like a great read! πŸ™‚ I’ll be adding this to my amazon wish list. πŸ˜€

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 08:47

  6. Ooooh, that book sounds great!!! I shall put that on my ‘books to buy’ list!!

    Will I be needing my towel?

    C x

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 09:09

  7. this sounds like a perfect BEACH READ for this summer!
    I will have to see if Barnes and noble has it while I am in Texas!

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 12:16

  8. Sounds like a fun read. Thanks for recommending it!

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 15:55

  9. I’ll have to recommend this book to a friend, because she loves these kinds of stories.

    I have posted about Saltsjobaden today….

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 17:28

  10. SirPe

    I’m currently reading this book, and I can but agree with LadyFi’s description and recommendation.

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 18:09

  11. That sounds like an entertaining read, I’ll have to see if I can find it. I’m a big Hitchhiker fan.

    As you’ve already seen, you won my giveaway – I was going to drop by this evening to let you know πŸ™‚ If this doesn’t show you my email address, yell at me and I’ll try harder!

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 19:22

  12. mother of the cousins

    Sounds a great book!

    Like

    May 28, 2009 at 20:01

  13. You are really good at summarizing books. It sounds like you read a broad range of genres. BTW when do you have time to read? I’m blogging, so reading is only on the Internet and 15-30 minutes/day for me.

    Like

    May 29, 2009 at 06:27

  14. Hey Lady Fi… Nah, it wasn’t you I was refering to. (so no..it wasn’t a wrist slap..) I agreed with you.. (even updated my post after I got your comment…) : ) its all good here!

    Like

    May 29, 2009 at 09:22

  15. Lady-Fi-ster, I am just getting caught up with your tales of wonderful walks, wonky pigs, tasty looking breakfast treats, children allowed to be children, you looking like a mad thing eating something called polar bread, and your wonderful award!

    Sorry to be so tardy, and I am wishing you a wonderfully sweet weekend, my Swedish friend xox

    Like

    May 30, 2009 at 22:58

  16. This sounds very intriguing … and definitely similar to Hitchhikers!! I’ll have to check it out!

    Like

    May 31, 2009 at 03:10

Many thanks for your comment

