In the news…

Today I’d like to bring to your attention some note-worthy and rather random news:

1. After my last post about weird and wonderful book titles, the author of Crazy Buttocks contacted me to complain that I had poked fun at her gluteus maximus. “My book is a thoughtful insight into something that really matters: our seat of learning. I was most upset to find out that you had been arse-ing around and making me look like an ass. Please take your tongue out of your cheek – or at least out of my cheek.”

pigbuttocks

Sorry – I guess I was aiming a bit low…

2. Cutting-edge technology has made it possible for a radical new online tanning service to start up in the USA. After opening for business only two months ago, the new tanning company Browned Off had already had a mega two million hits. “It’s amazing!” an enthusiastic new member declared. “I can blog and tan at the same time.”

badass-tan1

3. This 125-year old Yogi is a hermit living in the ice-capped mountains of Tibet. When asked the secret of his longevity and good health, he said that he owes it all to cigarettes, whisky and wild women. “Clean living is overrated,” quipped this perky old hermit.

yogijpg

4. It is traditional in Sweden to run around calling everyone a ‘silly herring’ at the beginning of the month of April. Commuters on the trains greet each other pleasantly with cheery comments like, “You smell like an old fishwife’s armpit!” and “Not only are you a silly herring, but you smell like a rotten one, too!” If you do not exchange fishy pleasantries with your fellow human beings, then you are fined. The money goes to the Baltic Red Herring Fund.

red_herring1

By the way, here in Sweden you go round saying, “April, April! You silly herring!” instead of April Fool!

Have a good April Fool’s Day!

26 responses

  1. British newspapers have had their usual April Foolery:

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/howaboutthat/5086598/Fleet-Street-joins-in-the-April-Fools-fun.html

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 09:27

  2. Very funny stuff. I can just picture a bunch of Swedes running around yelling, ‘Ooooh, geeez, you smell like a fish armpit, dat’s what!’

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 09:47

  3. Blogdog

    We’re had some great stories on the news here this morning – nothing like a few jokes to make us forget about all our economic woes for a few minutes!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 09:57

  4. ok #2 looks like your “typical American teenager” … I think that girl went to the high school where I was the principal! LOL

    thanks for this! Loved it!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 11:40

  5. vodkamom

    Those were great!!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 12:04

  6. Blue

    Hmm…silly herring doesn’t really translate well…

    But Happy Silly Herring-Day to you too ;o)

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 14:52

  7. Yes, Happy silly herring day, Fi.

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 15:16

  8. amazing photos!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 15:28

  9. You’re the silliest herring of them all! And oh how I envy that tan. *mwah* fish lips kiss.

    ♥ visit me at http://www.afiori.com

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 16:11

  10. Happy April Fool’s Day to you, too, you smelly fish!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 16:43

  11. hey, what about link exchange with me? let me know via comments…

    cheers

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 17:27

  12. How funny! I do so love the natural tan look!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 18:13

  13. Po

    Woah hang on, how do I know if I can believe any of this, is this one big April fools, I am confused, you smelly herring!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 18:28

  14. SirPe

    Haha, great stuff, thanks for those!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 19:10

  15. That’s funny! Too funny, so am wondering if you are pulling an April 1st prank on us too. 😉

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 19:38

  16. Oh my. Sorry “Crazy Buttocks” author was a little ruffled… What to do? Your pictures made me smile. I love “pesifically”. Can’t wait to use that!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 21:38

  17. Okay, seriously, is there really a “Crazy Buttocks” book? I’m a sucker for an April fool’s joke.

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 22:00

  18. F-U-N-N-Y!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 22:36

  19. You silly herring you. These were hilarious and thanks for making my day!!!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 23:12

  20. Bluefish

    The second and third photo scared me…crazy girl with crazy tan!

    Like

    April 1, 2009 at 23:57

  21. amy

    You are too funny. There have been a round of fool jokes going on around these parts. I can never trust anyone! So glad for it to be over. Although I’m expecting Yooper to be fooled tomorrow by his “girls” at work. He shouldn’t expect it, the day after. Fun!

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 00:16

  22. Well, it is now the second day of April here so, it must be
    silly salmon, right? In the old country it used to be Dec 28th
    which more or less translates into ” The Innocents Day”, where all sort of pranks are played and it was my least favorite day of the year, as I was always – being the third of four sisters – at the receiving “middle” from both ends.

    April’s fools went rather unnoticed today except for Google’s auto pilot mail which I am sure not many people noticed. Your post however, was very hard to ignore as I was laughing out loud. Thank you, I truly needed that today.

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 07:31

  23. Happy Silly Herring Day to you too!
    You don’t smell like old fish, do you???
    😉

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 07:46

  24. Hee hee hee. This was so funny … though the yogi picture freaks me out. And why can’t he say chocolate, warm bread and butter and good books are the secret to a long life? I would live FOREVER!

    Like

    April 2, 2009 at 15:13

  25. Y’all are some crazy kids up there in the northern latitudes! And I loved the comments from Crazy Buttocks Woman. She’s got a lot of cheek.

    Like

    April 3, 2009 at 02:14

  26. My lovely Fi….so so happy to see you again here….my love to you and thanks for all your beautiful letters and comments and support…you’ve been wonderful and i am so looking fwd to seeing you in Sweden in a month or so…yes, we’re planning to fly there together…the doctors thought it was a great idea for us. I’m just experimenting with blogging right now, taking it slowly….wanted to come and visit you though 🙂
    love, B xxx

    Like

    April 4, 2009 at 02:04

Many thanks for your comment

